Juon - Martin - Schnyder

Juon - Martin - Schnyder

Klaviertrios

The present recording of the Swiss Piano Trio unites three very different works by Swiss composers: two from the first half of the 20th century - Paul Juon's Litaniae op. 70 and Frank Martin's Trio on Irish folk melodies - and Daniel Schnyder's Piano Trio of 1999/2000, written on the cusp of the 21st century. Despite their being roughly contemporaneous, there are major stylistic differences bet...

More

CHF 22.00 Add
Juon - Schoeck - Müller

Juon - Schoeck - Müller

Werke für Violoncello und Klavier

At first glance, the present programme of works, contrasting late-Romantic and contemporary Swiss composers, might seem odd. But once one knows that a creative engagement with the folk music of their respective homelands was for Paul Juon and Fabian Müller equally important, playing a role that was at times stylistically decisive, then it becomes clear that they have fundamental matters in comm...

More

CHF 22.00 Add
Jürg Frey

Jürg Frey

Komponisten-Protrait

Three pieces from Jürg Frey’s recent oeuvre are to be found on this portrait CD. These pieces are linked to each other in many ways – through their instrumentation (saxophone quartet or piano quartet), through their forms (canons, repetitions, chordal patterns and a degree of singlemindedness), through their harmonic structures and the shape of their lines, their slow tempi and their quietness,...

More

CHF 22.00 Add
La Rosière Républicaine

La Rosière Républicaine

Various composers

When we speak of the music of the last decades of the 18th century, the first composers we mention are usually the three "Viennese Classics" Haydn, Mozart and Beethoven. While this was indeed one of the highlights of musical history, we appear - especially in our musical activities - to have completely forgotten it was also a period of experimentation. Industrial renewal and the Frenc...

More

CHF 22.00 Add
Martin - Honegger - Burkhard

Martin - Honegger - Burkhard

Werke für Violoncello und Klavier

This CD presents cello sonatas by three of the most important Swiss composers from the first half of the 20th century. Even though Willy Burkhard, Frank Martin and Arthur Honegger all come from the same country, attempts to find a typical 'Swiss music style' in their works will be in vain, because such a style does not really exist. Arthur Honegger spent the greater part of his life in France, ...

More

CHF 22.00 Add
Martin Jaggi

Martin Jaggi

Komponisten-Portrait

Martin Jaggi was born in Basel in 1978. He began playing the cello at the age of seven and was given his first composition lessons by his father, the composer Rudolf Jaggi. He studied composition with Rudolf Kelterborn from 1995 to 1996, and then from 1996 to 2000 he studied the cello with Reinhard Latzko and composition with Detlev Müller-Siemens at the Basel Music Academy. He then studied f...

More

CHF 22.00 Add
Martin Schlumpf

Martin Schlumpf

VIER JAHRESZEITEN

To come into being and to pass away; to bud, to blossom, to reap, and to wither, to die, to lie fallow... the eternal cycle of the seasons, the play of colours, the barely-perceptible changes, the scents, the rare discontinuities, the wide spaces, the wind... music generally enfolding in a slow, continual process; with occasional sidelong glances; with motives that are frequently superimposed; ...

More

CHF 22.00 Add
Michael Pelzel

Michael Pelzel

Komponisten-Portrait

“Just listen carefully! And let yourself be swept along!” is what one would most like to say about Michael Pelzel’s music, and then forgo any further commentary or attempt to talk about it. This is rare in contemporary music! Usually, there’s a lot that has to be explained, suitable metaphors have to be sought to try and convey what to listen for, and you have to keep telling the listener to ...

More

CHF 22.00 Add
Musica Veglia in Engiadina

Musica Veglia in Engiadina

Alte Musik im Engadin

The library of the Planta Foundation in the alpine village of Samedan contains numerous interesting musical manuscripts dating from the 16th to the 19th century. These manuscripts are evidence of the interest of influential Engadine families for the secular instrumental music of their time. These manuscripts are the earliest source of instrumental music in the Engadine and show an orientation t...

More

CHF 22.00 Add
Othmar Schoeck

Othmar Schoeck

Sommernacht - Sonate für Bassklarinette und Orchester - Penthesilea-Suite - Besuch in Urach

Schoeck was brilliant at first drafts. His operas Venus and Schloss Dürande were finished at a feverish tempo, essentially before the libretti were completed. Such a phenomenal process of sound-sculpting aims to go directly to the very core of the matter, to the essentials. The process of fine tuning – making sure that everything sits properly – was of secondary importance to him. That’s why m...

More

CHF 22.00 Add
Othmar Schoeck

Othmar Schoeck

Sämtliche Klavierwerke

Schoeck is primarily known as a composer in the German Lied tradition. More than three hundred Lieder for voice and piano, composed over a period of almost sixty years, form the backbone of his output. When one considers the fact that Schoeck earned his living not merely as a conductor, but also as a pianist, it might seem surprising that he has left us but a small number of works for his instr...

More

CHF 22.00 Add
Othmar Schoeck

Othmar Schoeck

Sonaten für Violine und Klavier

Schoeck is primarily known as a composer in the German lied tradition. When one considers that Schoeck made his living primarily as a conductor and piano accompanist, it may seem surprising that he composed relatively little instrumental music. There are few works for solo piano that date from the beginning and the end of his composing career respectively (MGB CD 6146); otherwise, his instrumen...

More

CHF 22.00 Add
Paul Juon

Paul Juon

ARABESKEN OP. 73

Paul Juon was born on 8 March 1872 in Moscow, though as a Swiss national. He studied first as a violinist, then later took composition lessons from Sergei Taneyev and Anton Arensky in Moscow, and from Woldemar Bargiel in Berlin. He spent the greater part of his life in the latter city, where he was also active as a teacher of composition. After his retirement in 1934, he moved to Vevey on Lake ...

More

CHF 22.00 Add
Paul Juon

Paul Juon

Sämtliche Streichquartette

For his first essay in the quartet genre Paul Juon had a bright idea with regard to its formal layout. He overcame the traditional four-movement plan by inserting an Intermezzo between the Scherzo and the Finale. His First String Quartet in D Major op. 5, composed in Baku in 1896, is marked by further special characteristics. With its considerable opulence in sound and its expansion in length (...

More

CHF 29.00 Add
Paul Juon

Paul Juon

Klavierquartette

The first movement of op. 37, with its bold, recitative-like cello theme, could on its own deserve to bear the title 'Rhapsody'. The final movement, which is in many sections and is in formal terms highly complex, once more passes by all the landscapes touched upon by the previous movements. It is a prime example of how Juon understands how to unify heterogeneous elements into a conclusive, ori...

More

CHF 22.00 Add
Paul Juon

Paul Juon

Silhouettes op. 9 und op. 43 - Sieben kleine Tondichtungen op. 81

Paul Juon is in many senses a man who “crossed boundaries”. It’s obviously true in a geographical sense, and in that he lived in a world of radical political change. But it’s also true in musical terms. He lived and worked in both Romanticism and Modernism, East and West. His successful endeavours to achieve a musical language of his own can be heard in his music, and is another reason for the ...

More

CHF 22.00 Add
Paul Juon

Paul Juon

Klavierwerke

Paul Juon was born in Moscow, as Pawel Fedorovitch Juon, on 8 March 1872. His roots went deep into the Russian music that surrounded him in his childhood years. With the development of metrical rows in 1904 in his Dance Rhythms op. 24 for piano duet, he prepared the way for the 'variable metres' of Boris Blacher (1903-1974), developed half a century later. With this, and with his efforts to ach...

More

CHF 22.00 Add
Paul Juon

Paul Juon

Quintett op. 33 - Kammersinfonie op. 27

With his Chamber Symphony op. 27, published in 1905, Paul Juon ventured a considerable step forwards. At least for the moment, he left behind him the opulent sonorities of the Late Romantics and their tendencies to hypertrophy, and entered new territory in exemplary manner with a reduction in his palette of sound that was well-nigh radical in scope. The First Piano Quintet op. 33 was published ...

More

CHF 22.00 Add
Peter Mieg

Peter Mieg

Ausgewählte Werke

This rediscovery of the composer, which is grounded in two pre-War works, namely the String Trio of 1937 and the String Quartet of 1938, could certainly have further repercussions, for there is a whole series of the composer's early works that have never been performed. Here, we get to know a young composer, just thirty years old, who is representative of the cutting-edge of the musical develop...

More

CHF 22.00 Add
Quatuors Suisses Pour Instruments à Anches

Quatuors Suisses Pour Instruments à Anches

Quatuor Francis Poulenc

The pastoral charm of the oboe, the sweet volubility of the clarinet, the languorous timbre of the alto and tenor saxophones and the warm, round tone of the bassoon. The quartet of reed instruments has at its disposal a broad palette of sonorities, which is on this CD enriched even further by the singular colours of the cor anglais and the bass clarinet. The Francis Poulenc Quartet was founded ...

More

CHF 22.00 Add

Jean Perrin

Jean Perrin

Oeuvres pour piano

Jean-François Antonioli, 1959 geboren, gastierte im Verlauf seiner Karriere als Pianist und Dirigent in rund zwanzig Ländern auf vier Kontinenten. Er studierte in Lausanne und Paris (bei Pierre Sancan), und besuchte Meisterkurse bei Bruno Seidlhofer (Wien) und Carlo Zecchi (Rom). Bis heute liegen rund zwanzig Einspielungen für verschiedene CD-Labels vor. Er hat die 21 Klavierkonzerte von Mozart...

Mehr anzeigen

CHF 22.00 Add
Juon - Martin - Schnyder

Juon - Martin - Schnyder

Klaviertrios

Diese CD kombiniert drei sehr unterschiedliche Werke aus der Feder von Schweizer Komponisten: Zwei Trios aus der ersten Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts, Paul Juons Litanie op. 70 und Frank Martins Trio sur des mélodies populaires irlandaises, sowie Daniel Schnyders Piano Trio an der Schwelle zum 21. Jahrhundert. Trotz der zeitlichen Nähe zeigen sich bei den ersten beiden Einspielungen weitgehende s...

Mehr anzeigen

CHF 22.00 Add
Juon - Schoeck - Müller

Juon - Schoeck - Müller

Werke für Violoncello und Klavier

Das Verbindende zwischen Paul Juon und Fabian Müller ist neben ihrer starken Beziehung zu Volksliedern und -tänzen ihr Interesse an der Sonatenform und das Festhalten an der Tonalität, oder zumindest an tonalen Zentren. In ihrer instrumentalen Ausbildung konzentrierten sich beide Komponisten auf ein Streichinstrument, Paul Juon auf die Violine, Fabian Müller auf das Violoncello. Othmar Schoeck...

Mehr anzeigen

CHF 22.00 Add
Jürg Frey

Jürg Frey

Komponisten-Protrait

Drei Stücke aus den letzten Schaffensjahren von Jürg Frey enthält diese Porträt-CD. Die Stücke sind in vieler Hinsicht untereinander verknüpft, durch die Besetzung Saxophonquartett bzw. Klavierquartett, durch Formen (Kanons, Wiederholungen, Akkordfolgen, Zielstrebigkeiten), durch die harmonischen Strukturen und die Linienverläufe, die Langsamkeit und Leisheit, durch die Ruhe, die kleine Überras...

Mehr anzeigen

CHF 22.00 Add
La Rosière Républicaine

La Rosière Républicaine

Diverse Komponisten

Spricht man über die Musik aus dem letzten Jahrzehnt des 18. Jahrhunderts, so fallen gemeinhin die drei grossen Namen der formvollendeten Wiener Klassik: Haydn, Mozart und Beethoven. Dabei geht oft vergessen, dass diese Zeit auch eine Zeit des Experimentierens war. Die industriellen Neuerungen, die Französische Revolution und der gesellschaftliche Wandel spiegeln sich auch in der damaligen Musi...

Mehr anzeigen

CHF 22.00 Add
Martin - Honegger - Burkhard

Martin - Honegger - Burkhard

Werke für Violoncello und Klavier

Der Schweizer Cellist Markus Nyikos, Mitglied der Berliner Philharmoniker, spielte mit seinem tschechischen Duopartner Jaroslav Smykál einige wichtige Cellosonaten von Schweizer Komponisten des letzten Jahrhunderts ein, die aber eher eine spätromantische bzw. neoklassizistische Musiksprache verfolgen. Die meisten Aufnahmen sind Weltersteinspielungen.

Mehr anzeigen

CHF 22.00 Add
Martin Jaggi

Martin Jaggi

Komponisten-Portrait

Martin Jaggi wurde 1978 in Basel geboren. Er spielt seit seinem siebten Lebensjahr Violoncello und erhielt seinen ersten Kompositionsunterricht von seinem Vater, dem Komponisten Rudolf Jaggi. Von 1995 bis 1996 studierte er bei Rudolf Kelterborn Komposition und von 1996 bis 2000 Violoncello bei Reinhard Latzko sowie Komposition bei Detlev Müller-Siemens an der Hochschule für Musik Basel. Anschli...

Mehr anzeigen

CHF 22.00 Add
Martin Schlumpf

Martin Schlumpf

VIER JAHRESZEITEN

Der Aargauer Komponist Martin Schlumpf ging die seit je her beliebte musikalische Umsetzung des Jahreszeitenzyklus (Vivaldi u.v.a.) auf seine besondere Weise an: er wählte für jede Jahreszeit eine spezifische Klangaura: den harten Schlagzeugklang für den aufbrechenden Frühling, den weicheren Gitarrenklang für den Sommer, vier Frauenstimmen mit einem Gedicht von Georg Trakl für den Herbst und in...

Mehr anzeigen

CHF 22.00 Add
Michael Pelzel

Michael Pelzel

Komponisten-Portrait

«Hören Sie einfach genau zu! Und lassen Sie sich mitreissen!», möchte man am liebsten zu Michael Pelzels Musik schreiben – und dann auf weitere Kommentare und Vermittlungsversuche verzichten. Solches ist in der zeitgenössischen Musik selten! Da muss meist viel erklärt, nach Bildern für ein adäquates Hören gesucht und den Hörerinnen und Hörern immer wieder empfohlen werden, sich der Musik gegen...

Mehr anzeigen

CHF 22.00 Add
Musica Veglia in Engiadina

Musica Veglia in Engiadina

Alte Musik im Engadin

Die rätoromanische Bibliothek der Planta-Stiftung (Fundaziun Planta) in Samedan beherbergt mehrere interessante Musikhandschriften aus der Zeit des 16. bis 19. Jahrhunderts. Sie sind ein Zeugnis vom Interesse namhafter Engadiner Familien für die weltliche Instrumentalmusik ihrer Zeit. Diese Handschriften sind die ältesten Quellen ihrer Gattung und zeigen eine Orientierung nach Norden, die im Zu...

Mehr anzeigen

CHF 22.00 Add
Othmar Schoeck

Othmar Schoeck

Sommernacht - Sonate für Bassklarinette und Orchester - Penthesilea-Suite - Besuch in Urach

"Schoeck war ein genialer Musik-Entwerfer. Seine Opern Venus und Schloss Dürande hatte er weitgehend w ie im Fieber fertigkomponiert, bevor überhaupt die Libretti vorlagen. Solch phänomenales Tonmeisseln will direkt zum Kern, zum Wesentlichen und Eigentlichen vordringen. Die Feinjustierung, das perfekt sitzende Kleid, ist dabei eher nebensächlich. Deswegen lassen sich viele Werke Schoecks lei...

Mehr anzeigen

CHF 22.00 Add
Othmar Schoeck

Othmar Schoeck

Sämtliche Klavierwerke

Der vor allem als Schöpfer von Opern und Liedern bekannte Schweizer Komponist Othmar Schoeck hat ein eher schmales Oeuvre für Soloklavier hinterlassen, eigentlich erstaunlich angesichts der Tatsache, dass er seinen Lebensunterhalt neben der Dirigiertätigkeit auch als Pianist verdiente. Das gesamte Schaffen Schoecks für Klavier wird auf dieser CD erstmals einem breiten Publikum zugänglich gemach...

Mehr anzeigen

CHF 22.00 Add
Othmar Schoeck

Othmar Schoeck

Sonaten für Violine und Klavier

Othmar Schoeck hat ein relativ schmales ?uvre von Instrumentalmusik hinterlassen, seine Hauptwerke waren Opern und Lieder. Der schwärmerische, romantische Tonfall von Schoecks Werken für Violine und Klavier, die hier mehrheitlich in einer Weltersteinspielung vorliegen, hat auch einen biographischen Hintergrund: Schoeck verliebte sich ? allerdings unglücklich ? in die anmutige, junge ungarische ...

Mehr anzeigen

CHF 22.00 Add
Paul Juon

Paul Juon

ARABESKEN OP. 73

Der als Sohn einer Bündner Familie 1872 in Moskau geborene Paul Juon wurde in Berlin, wo er sich nach seinen Studien niedergelassen hatte, der ?russische Brahms? genannt, da er in seinen spätromantischen Stil vielfach russisches Kolorit einflocht. In der Schweiz, wo er seine letzten Jahre von 1934 bis zum Tod 1940 in Vevey verbrachte, ist er bis heute kaum bekannt. Neben seinen vielfältigen Orc...

Mehr anzeigen

CHF 22.00 Add
Paul Juon

Paul Juon

Sämtliche Streichquartette

Für seinen Quartett-Erstling liess sich Paul Juon in formaler Hinsicht etwas Spezielles einfallen. Die traditionelle Viersätzigkeit überwand er durch Einfügen eines Intermezzos, das zwischen Scherzo und Finale zu stehen kam. Das 1896 in Baku komponierte 1. Streichquartett D-Dur op. 5 zeichnet sich durch weitere Besonderheiten aus. Mit seiner beträchtlichen Klangfülle uns seiner Ausdehnung auf m...

Mehr anzeigen

CHF 29.00 Add
Paul Juon

Paul Juon

Klavierquartette

Der erste Satz des Opus 37 könnte mit seinem recitativisch kühnen Cellothema auch schon für sich allein den Titel "Rhapsodie" tragen. Und der vielgliedrige und formal höchst komplexe Finalsatz durchmisst noch einmal alle in den beiden vorangegangenen Sätzen berührten Landschaften. Er ist ein Lehrstück dafür, wie Juon es versteht, auch heterogene Elemente zu einem schlüssigen und originellen Gan...

Mehr anzeigen

CHF 22.00 Add
Paul Juon

Paul Juon

Silhouettes op. 9 und op. 43 - Sieben kleine Tondichtungen op. 81

Paul Juon ist in vieler Hinsicht ein «Grenzgänger»: offenkundig geografisch, in einer Zeit, in der die Welt politisch im Umbruch ist, aber auch aus musikalischer Sicht. Er lebt und wirkt zwischen Romantik und Moderne, zwischen Ost und West.Sein erfolgreiches Ringen um eine eigenständige Tonsprache ist seinen Werken anzuhören und mit ein Grund für die Faszination für diesen Komponisten. Spezie...

Mehr anzeigen

CHF 22.00 Add
Paul Juon

Paul Juon

Klavierwerke

Paul Juon wurde am 8. März 1872 als Pawel Fedorowitsch Juon in Moskau geboren. Ursprünglich war er mit seinem fast ausschliesslich instrumentalen Schaffen tief in der russischen Musik verwurzelt. Mit der Entwicklung metrischer Reihen in den "Tanzrythmen" op. 24 für Klavier zu vier Händen im Jahre 1904 bereitete er den Boden vor für die ein halbes Jahrhundert später ebenfalls in Berlin entsta...

Mehr anzeigen

CHF 22.00 Add
Paul Juon

Paul Juon

Quintett op. 33 - Kammersinfonie op. 27

Mit der 1905 veröffentlichten Kammersinfonie op. 27 wagte Paul Juon einen beträchtlichen Schritt nach vorn. Er liess die klangliche Opulenz der Spätromantik hinter sich und betrat mit einer geradezu radikal reduzierten Klangpalette Neuland. Das 1. Klavierquintett op. 33 kam 1906 heraus und ist eines seiner bedeutendsten und umfangreichsten Kammermusikwerke.

Mehr anzeigen

CHF 22.00 Add
Peter Mieg

Peter Mieg

Ausgewählte Werke

Die beiden Frühwerke "Streichtrio" und "Streichquartett Nr. 1" erlauben eine Neuentdeckung des Komponisten Peter Mieg. Damit stand er auf der Höhe der Musikentwicklung der Zeit. Er huldigte noch nicht jenem retrospektiven Schönheitsideal wie ab den 50er-Jahren, als er mit seinem verspäteten Neoklassizismus als unzeitgemäss empfunden wurde. Doch die beiden Spätwerke "Konzert für Oboe und Orchest...

Mehr anzeigen

CHF 22.00 Add