George Gruntz Concert Jazz Band

Matterhorn Matters

Tracks

Choro Loco (Luciano Biondini); Artist’s Arteriology (George Gruntz); Matterhorn Matters (George Gruntz); His Master’s Choice (Franco Ambrosetti); My One and Only Love (Guy Wood/Robert Mellin); Too High (Stevie Wonder); Scott and Howard (George Gruntz)

Description

Matterhorn Matters was recorded at a live concert in Lucerne on the 10th April 2010. Although the band contained several new faces, including brassmen Mike Rodriguez, Jeff Stockton and accordionist Luciano Biondini, it was a night when everything seemed to click musically. No doubt the perfect acoustics in the hall helped, but whatever that mysterious alchemy that grips an ensemble from time to time and lifts a performance from the ordinary into the extraordinary, it was present that night. Afterwards, everybody was excited about the performance - Gruntz, the band members, the audience and the Swiss Radio staff who recorded the event. No one was more keen than Gruntz himself to release this documentation of the concert on CD, "You can feel the fire, you can feel the whole band is really in it, a lot of energy there," he enthuses, "I've been living with the tapes of this concert for a couple of weeks now and I know every note everybody plays. Fantastic!"

Composer

Various composers

Artists

Dave Bargeron (tb), Luciano Biondini (accordeon), Chris Hunter (as, fl), Lew Soloff (tp/piccolo tp), Jeff Stockham (frh), Howard Johnson (tuba), Arie Volinez (e-bass), Sal Giorgianni (ts), Mike Rodriguez (tp), Andy Scherrer (ts), René Mosele (tb), François Laizeau (d), Larry Schneider (ts), Scott Robinson (bs, ts). 

CD order number

Jazz 3

MP3 preview

EAN code

7613206849323

CHF 22.00 Add

George Gruntz Concert Jazz Band

Matterhorn Matters

Tracklisting

Choro Loco (Luciano Biondini); Artist’s Arteriology (George Gruntz); Matterhorn Matters (George Gruntz); His Master’s Choice (Franco Ambrosetti); My One and Only Love (Guy Wood/Robert Mellin); Too High (Stevie Wonder); Scott and Howard (George Gruntz)

Beschreibung

Matterhon Matters wurde an einem Livekonzert in Luzern am 10. April 2010 aufgenommen. Obwohl in der Band mehrere neue Gesichter auftauchten, darunter die Blechbläser Mike Rodriguez, Jeff Stockton und der Akkordeonist Luciano Biondini, war es eine Nacht, in der musikalisch alles zusammenzupassen schien. Ohne Zweifel half auch die perfekte Akustik des Saals, aber was es mit dieser mysteriösen Alchemie, die ein Ensemble dann und wann ergreift und eine Aufführung vom Gewöhnlichen ins Aussergewöhnliche hebt, auch immer sein mag: sie war in dieser Nacht anwesend. Niemand war mehr daran interessiert, diese Aufnahme als CD herauszugeben als Gruntz selber. "Man kann das Feuer fühlen, man spürt, dass die ganze Band voll und ganz dabei ist, dass sehr viel Energie da ist", begeistert er sich, "ich habe mit den Bändern dieses Konzerts nun ein paar Wochen lang gelebt, und ich kenne jede Note. Fantastisch!"

Komponist

Diverse Komponisten

Mitwirkende

Dave Bargeron (tb), Luciano Biondini (accordeon), Chris Hunter (as, fl), Lew Soloff (tp/piccolo tp), Jeff Stockham (frh), Howard Johnson (tuba), Arie Volinez (e-bass), Sal Giorgianni (ts), Mike Rodriguez (tp), Andy Scherrer (ts), René Mosele (tb), François Laizeau (d), Larry Schneider (ts), Scott Robinson (bs, ts). 

CD-Bestellnummer

Jazz 3

MP3-Hörprobe

EAN-Code

7613206849323

CHF 22.00 Add