Grammont Sélection 7

Schweizer Uraufführungen aus dem Jahr 2013

Tracks

CD 1: Dieter Ammann: unbalanced instability; Beat Furrer: strane costellazioni; Roland Moser: Perrot Soldat; Alfred Zimmerlin: tiw; Rudolf Kelterborn: Sinfonie Nr. 5 La Notte. CD 2: Jannik Giger: Contaminare; Benoît Moreau: Encre et Trompette; Denis Schuler: Ek Balam; Caroline Charrière: Envol; Edu Haubensak: PUR; Katharina Rosenberger: Erzählung; Stefan Wirth: This glacial shore.

Description

The train comes to a halt near the winemaking village of Épesses by the banks of Lake Geneva, roughly halfway between Lausanne and Montreux. A path leads up to a wine tavern. From the terrace you have a view all the way across the lake to the Alps and the cultivated vineyards of Lavaux, of which Stravinsky once said they reminded him of Cézanne. This is how the Vaudois writer Charles Ferdinand Ramuz recalled it, who got to know the house composer of the Ballets russes here, one afternoon in autumn 1915. Over bread and wine, these two kindred spirits created the basis for their future joint works, first and foremost A soldier’s tale. Outside the Swiss borders the war was raging, and inside the country, ration cards were being issued. Cut off from the rest of the world, the composer – unfit for military service – delved into his Russian folk texts, while the poet, who was barely able to sell his books, succeeded in escaping from provincialism through their joint artistic undertakings. Today, a century later, the Soldier’s tale is regarded as a key work in Swiss music history, for even though it is not by a Swiss composer, it offers an early example of a multifaceted, highly vital music culture that knows no borders.The works on this Grammont Sélection, twelve world premières from 2013, offer contemporary examples of these open boundaries. This openness is reflected not least in the diversity of styles to be heard here. The selection itself, however, encounters boundaries that are determined by the very medium of the CD. We cannot make any claim to completeness here, for our selection lacks electronic, improvised and vocal music, to give three examples. This seventh edition of the Grammont Sélection has been curated once again by the Consortium for the Promotion of Swiss Music to which the Swiss Musicians’ Association, the Swiss Arts Council Pro Helvetia, SUISA, the SUISA Foundation, Swiss radio and TV and the Migros Culture Percentage belong. The determining criterion, ultimately, is the musical quality that is revealed in the moment of listening. Listening is here like a journey into the unknown that always begins anew. Every description of it, including this text, is only a prologue to this journey – one that is dispensable, because the works really do not need any theoretical underpinning. They are in the best possible sense “anti-universal, anti-intellectual, in a word: alive” (Ramuz).

Composer

CD 1: Dieter Ammann (*1962); Beat Furrer (*1954); Roland Moser (*1943); Alfred Zimmerlin (*1955); Rudolf Kelterborn (*1931); CD 2: Jannik Giger (*1985); Benoît Moreau (*1979); Denis Schuler (*1970); Caroline Charrière (*1960); Edu Haubensak (*1954); Katharina Rosenberger (*1971); Stefan Wirth (*1975).

Artists

CD 1: Carolin Widmann, Violine; WDR Sinfonieorchester Köln; Junge Deutsche Philharmonie; Moscow Contemporary Music Ensemble; Duo Causa; Trio Nota Bene; Orchester der Musikhochschule Basel. CD 2: Nexus reedquintet; Nouvel Ensemble Contemporain; Ensemble Phoenix Basel; Korean Music Project; Isabelle Schnöller, Flöte; Simone Keller, Klavier; Moscow Contemporary Ensemble; Camerata Variabile.

CD order number

MGB CTS-M 142

EAN code

7613295407831

CHF 29.00 Add

Grammont Sélection 7

Schweizer Uraufführungen aus dem Jahr 2013

Tracklisting

CD 1: Dieter Ammann: unbalanced instability; Beat Furrer: strane costellazioni; Roland Moser: Perrot Soldat; Alfred Zimmerlin: tiw; Rudolf Kelterborn: Sinfonie Nr. 5 La Notte. CD 2: Jannik Giger: Contaminare; Benoît Moreau: Encre et Trompette; Denis Schuler: Ek Balam; Caroline Charrière: Envol; Edu Haubensak: PUR; Katharina Rosenberger: Erzählung; Stefan Wirth: This glacial shore.

Beschreibung

Der Zug hält nahe dem Winzerdorf Épesses am Ufer des Genfersees, ungefähr auf halber Strecke zwischen Lausanne und Montreux. Ein Weg führt hinauf zu einem Weinlokal. Von der Terrasse hat man eine weite Sicht über die Wasserfläche, die Alpen und die kultivierten Weinhänge des Lavaux, von denen Strawinsky einmal behauptet hat, sie würden ihn an Cézanne erinnern. So ist es durch den Waadtländer Schriftsteller Charles Ferdinand Ramuz überliefert, den der Komponist der Ballets Russes genau hier an einem Nachmittag im Herbst 1915 kennenlernte. Bei Wein und Brot schufen die beiden Seelenverwandten die Grundlage für ihre gemeinsamen Werke: allen voran die Histoire du soldat. Ausserhalb der Schweizer Grenzen herrschte Krieg, innerhalb wurden Lebensmittelkarten verteilt. Abgeschottet von der restlichen Welt, vertiefte sich der dienstuntaugliche Musiker in seine russischen Volkstexte, während der Dichter, der seine Bücher kaum noch absetzen konnte, dank gemeinsamer künstlerischer Unternehmungen der Provinzialität entging. Heute, ein Jahrhundert später, gilt die Histoire du soldat als Schlüsselwerk der Schweizer Musikgeschichte. Dabei ist sie kein Werk eines Schweizer Komponisten, sicherlich aber ein frühes Beispiel für eine vielseitige und überaus lebendige Musikkultur, die keinerlei Grenzen kennt. Die Werke dieser Grammont Sélection, zwölf Uraufführungen aus dem Jahr 2013, sind aktuelle Beispiele für diese Unbegrenztheit, die sich nicht zuletzt in der Vielfalt der Schreibweisen widerspiegelt. Der Auswahl selbst allerdings sind durch das Medium der CD bedingte Grenzen gesetzt. Somit erhebt sie auch nicht den Anspruch auf Vollständigkeit, es fehlen beispielsweise elektronische, improvisierte und vokale Musik. Kuratiert wurde die siebte Ausgabe erneut von der Arbeitsgemeinschaft zur Förderung schweizerischer Musik, welcher der Schweizerische Tonkünstlerverein, die Schweizer Kulturstiftung Pro Helvetia, SUISA, Fondation SUISA, Schweizer Radio und Fernsehen sowie Migros-Kulturprozent angehören. Ausschlaggebend ist letzten Endes die musikalische Qualität, die sich im Augenblick des Hörens preisgibt. Das Hören kommt dabei einer Reise ins Unbekannte gleich, die immer wieder neu beginnt. Jede Aufzeichnung darüber, auch der folgende Text, ist nur ein Prolog zu dieser Reise – ein entbehrlicher, denn die Werke bedürfen keiner theoretischen Untermauerung. Sie sind im besten Sinne «anti-universitär, anti-intellektuell, in einem Wort: lebendig» (Ramuz).

Komponist

CD 1: Dieter Ammann (*1962); Beat Furrer (*1954); Roland Moser (*1943); Alfred Zimmerlin (*1955); Rudolf Kelterborn (*1931); CD 2: Jannik Giger (*1985); Benoît Moreau (*1979); Denis Schuler (*1970); Caroline Charrière (*1960); Edu Haubensak (*1954); Katharina Rosenberger (*1971); Stefan Wirth (*1975).

Mitwirkende

CD 1: Carolin Widmann, Violine; WDR Sinfonieorchester Köln; Junge Deutsche Philharmonie; Moscow Contemporary Music Ensemble; Duo Causa; Trio Nota Bene; Orchester der Musikhochschule Basel. CD 2: Nexus reedquintet; Nouvel Ensemble Contemporain; Ensemble Phoenix Basel; Korean Music Project; Isabelle Schnöller, Flöte; Simone Keller, Klavier; Moscow Contemporary Ensemble; Camerata Variabile.

CD-Bestellnummer

MGB CTS-M 142

EAN-Code

7613295407831

CHF 29.00 Add