Martin Jaggi

Komponisten-Portrait

Tracks

Girga für Orchester; Mehrgarh für 12 Instrumente; Strata für Sopransaxophon, Viola, Schlagzeug und Klavier; SPAM für 6 Instrumente; Plod on für Violine, Viola, Violoncello und Klavier; Moloch für grosses Orchester.

Description

Martin Jaggi was born in Basel in 1978. He began playing the cello at the age of seven and was given his first composition lessons by his father, the composer Rudolf Jaggi. He studied composition with Rudolf Kelterborn from 1995 to 1996, and then from 1996 to 2000 he studied the cello with Reinhard Latzko and composition with Detlev Müller-Siemens at the Basel Music Academy. He then studied further with Walter Grimmer at the Zurich Academy of Music and Theatre. He also attended masterclasses by Claude Starck, Colin Carr and Ivan Chiffoleau (cello) and with Marc-André Dalbavie and Helmut Lachenmann (composition). From 2004 to 2006 he undertook postgraduate studies in composition with Manfred Stahnke at the Hamburg Music Academy. Martin Jaggi’s primary activity as a performer is as the cellist of the Ensemble Phoenix Basel. From 2000 to 2013 he was the cellist in the Mondrian Ensemble Basel, of which he was a founding member. He is also the solo cellist of the basel sinfonietta. The beginning of Jaggi’s career as a composer was marked by the performance of his Sahara cycle as part of the European Music Month in Basel in 2001. Since then he has been given numerous commissions, including by the Basel Symphony Orchestra, the Lucerne Symphony Orchestra, the aDEvantgarde Festival in Munich, the Festival Archipel Genève, the Musikfestival Bern, the Swiss Arts Council Pro Helvetia, the Ensemble Phoenix Basel, the Collegium Novum Zürich, the Munich Chamber Orchestra and the Austrian Ensemble for New Music. His works have been performed in numerous countries in Europe and Asia as well as in Canada, Argentina and South Africa, and they have been broadcast by various radio stations. His orchestral work Trieb and the string quartet Gharra were included in the CD documentation series “Grammont Sélection” featuring exceptional Swiss world premières. In June 2015, the Donaueschingen Music Days commissioned him to write an orchestral work. Martin Jaggi lives and works today in Switzerland and Singapore.

Composer

Martin Jaggi (*1978)

Artists

Luzerner Sinfonieorchester; James Gaffigan, Leitung; Collegium Novum Zürich; Johannes Kalitzke, Leitung; Raphael Camenisch, Sopransaxophon; Petra Ackermann, Viola; Christian Dierstein, Schlagzeug; Philipp Meier, Klavier; Ensemble Phoenix Basel; Mondrian Ensemble; basel sinfonietta; Stefan Asbury, Leitung.

CD order number

MGB-CTS-M 146

EAN code

7613295407992

CHF 22.00 Add

Martin Jaggi

Komponisten-Portrait

Tracklisting

Girga für Orchester; Mehrgarh für 12 Instrumente; Strata für Sopransaxophon, Viola, Schlagzeug und Klavier; SPAM für 6 Instrumente; Plod on für Violine, Viola, Violoncello und Klavier; Moloch für grosses Orchester.

Beschreibung

Martin Jaggi wurde 1978 in Basel geboren. Er spielt seit seinem siebten Lebensjahr Violoncello und erhielt seinen ersten Kompositionsunterricht von seinem Vater, dem Komponisten Rudolf Jaggi. Von 1995 bis 1996 studierte er bei Rudolf Kelterborn Komposition und von 1996 bis 2000 Violoncello bei Reinhard Latzko sowie Komposition bei Detlev Müller-Siemens an der Hochschule für Musik Basel. Anschliessend folgte ein Studium bei Walter Grimmer an der damaligen Hochschule Musik und Theater Zürich. Ergänzend besuchte er Meisterkurse bei Claude Starck, Colin Carr und Ivan Chiffoleau (Violoncello) sowie bei Marc-André Dalbavie und Helmut Lachenmann (Komposition). Von 2004 bis 2006 schloss er ein Aufbaustudium für Komposition bei Manfred Stahnke an der Musikhochschule Hamburg an. Im Zentrum seiner Arbeit als Interpret steht für Martin Jaggi seine Tätigkeit als Cellist im Ensemble Phoenix Basel. Von 2000 bis 2013 war er Cellist im Mondrian Ensemble Basel, das er mitbegründet hatte. Zudem ist er Solocellist der basel sinfonietta. Am Anfang von Jaggis kompositorischer Laufbahn stand die Aufführung des Sahara-Zyklus im Rahmen des Europäischen Musikmonats 2001 in Basel. Seither folgten zahlreiche Kompositionsaufträge, unter anderem vom Sinfonieorchester Basel, vom Luzerner Sinfonieorchester, vom aDEvantgarde Festival in München, vom Festival Archipel Genève, vom Musikfestival Bern, der Pro Helvetia, vom Ensemble Phoenix Basel, vom Collegium Novum Zürich, vom Münchener Kammerorchester und vom Österreichischen Ensemble für Neue Musik. Seine Werke wurden in zahlreichen europäischen und asiatischen Ländern sowie in Kanada, Argentinien und Südafrika aufgeführt und von verschiedenen Radiostationen aufgezeichnet. Das Orchesterstück Trieb und das Streichquartett Gharra wurden in die CD-Dokumentation Grammont Sélection mit herausragenden Schweizer Uraufführungen aufgenommen. Im Juni 2015 erhielt er den Auftrag für ein Orchesterwerk von den Donaueschinger Musiktagen. Martin Jaggi lebt und arbeitet in der Schweiz und in Singapur.

Komponist

Martin Jaggi (*1978)

Mitwirkende

Luzerner Sinfonieorchester; James Gaffigan, Leitung; Collegium Novum Zürich; Johannes Kalitzke, Leitung; Raphael Camenisch, Sopransaxophon; Petra Ackermann, Viola; Christian Dierstein, Schlagzeug; Philipp Meier, Klavier; Ensemble Phoenix Basel; Mondrian Ensemble; basel sinfonietta; Stefan Asbury, Leitung.

CD-Bestellnummer

MGB-CTS-M 146

EAN-Code

7613295407992

CHF 22.00 Add