Alfons Karl Zwicker

Alfons Karl Zwicker

VOM KLANG DER BILDER

The music of Alfons Karl Zwicker is characterized by a fascinating overlapping of genres. Until 1980, this pianist and composer from Saint Gall had devoted himself intensively to painting. In the course of his work, an increasing tendency to abstraction became apparent in his visual language, as well as an increasing use of musical elements such as rhythm and sound fields. These musical aspects...

More

CHF 22.00 Add
Andreae - Veress - D'Alessandro

Andreae - Veress - D'Alessandro

Schweizer Werke für Klaviertrio

More

CHF 22.00 Add
Arthur Honegger

Arthur Honegger

"Rugby". Mouvement symphonique Symphonie liturgique Symphonie "Di tre re"

As a regular attendee of rugby matches in Paris in the 1920s, Honegger was passionate about the “wild, abrupt, disordered, despairing rhythms” of matches, and for the whole spectacle bound up with it: “I like: 1) this kind of euphoria, of hope, of the overwhelming, baseless joy that the game engenders; 2) at the same time the fateful, unforeseeable phases of the game, the dribbling of the forwa...

More

CHF 22.00 Add
Dmitri Schostakowitsch j

Dmitri Schostakowitsch j

SINFONIE NR. 4

The Fourth Symphony marks not only the first highpoint in Shostakovitch's canon of 15 symphonies, but also the closing point of a phase in his compositional development - a development that underwent a radical change of direction in the works that followed it. The demands made by the Fourth Symphony are considerably greater than those of Shostakovitch's first three symphonies. This fact is also...

More

CHF 22.00 Add
Dmitrij Schostakowitsch

Dmitrij Schostakowitsch

SINFONIE NR. 5

The 5th Symphony holds a special place within Schostakovich's output. It is the first symphony he wrote after several years of cruel persecution by the communist regime. In a review in "Prawda" of the premiere of Shostakovich's opera "Lady Macbeth of the Mtsensk District" we read: 'Chaos instead of music!' This shattering judgment came from Stalin himself. Shortly afterwards...

More

CHF 22.00 Add
Ernest Bloch

Ernest Bloch

CONCERTI GROSSI I&II

In Switzerland, there is nothing to suggest that Ernest Bloch (1880-1959) is in fact, in international terms, the most often-performed composer of Swiss origin. While the composer of the symphonic fresco Helvetia, The Land of Mountains and its People (1929) receives little attention in his homeland except for the occasional performance of a few chamber music works, the composer of the epic rhap...

More

CHF 22.00 Add
Fabian Müller

Fabian Müller

Klavierkonzert, Labyrinth, Suite für Violoncello und Streichorchester, Lied des Einsamen

Fabian Müller is one of the leading Swiss composers of his generation. His music is created wholly out of an intuitive freedom. His starting point is rarely a concept developed by the intellect for the music to follow. His works thus encompass modernistic and traditional elements. He feels no duty to any particular school or dogma, seeing his composing as a voyage of discovery undertaken by an ...

More

CHF 22.00 Add
Frank Martin

Frank Martin

Intégrale des oeuvres pour flûte

Complete Works for Flute by Frank Martin A scenic performance of Le Vin herbé in Salzburg in 1948 gave him his international breakthrough. Martin’s oeuvre includes religious works such as Golgotha and Le Mystère de la Nativité, orchestral music such as the Petite Symphonie concertante, solo vocal works such as Der Cornet (Rilke), plus choral and chamber music. His works today belong to th...

More

CHF 29.00 Add
George Gruntz

George Gruntz

Expo Triangle

The Symphonie Les Echanges by Rolf Liebermann (1910-1999) was commissioned by Sector No. 5, 'Les échanges' (Goods and Values) the 1946 Swiss National Exhibition in Lausanne entitled EXPO 64. This work for 156 office machines was to be heard every hour, in a specially constructed pavilion. Liebermann wanted to transform it into a musical work. He called in the Swiss jazz musician Georg...

More

CHF 22.00 Add
Grammont Sélection 8

Grammont Sélection 8

Schweizer Uraufführungen 2014

The Grammont “Sélections” of the past seven years have never really given an impression of homogeneity. Only to a limited extent were they able to define any kind of “typical” Swiss style. Eighty years ago there still existed what seemed to be some kind of common aesthetic direction in Swiss music, and even just twenty years ago composers seemed to have at least a comparable approach to how the...

More

CHF 29.00 Add
Heinrich Sutermeister

Heinrich Sutermeister

Klavierkonzert Nr. 2 - Divertimento Nr. 1 - Poème funèbre - Sérénade pour Montreux

The Swiss composer Heinrich Sutermeister gained an international reputation as an opera composer. His direct, easily comprehensible musical language created a close relationship between stage, singers and his audience, enabling him to gain the favour of a broad public. Carl Orff and Hans Pfitzner are often mentioned as being amongst Sutermeister's teachers. However, of the latter he only heard ...

More

CHF 22.00 Add
Hermann Meier

Hermann Meier

Kammermusik und Orchesterwerke 1960-69

Romanticism all around; in the 1950s, things changed for me: no melodies any more, only layers of sound, like reinforced concrete. I have to go to Solothurn again and learn to curse; they curse there for several minutes at a time, whole symphonies of curses, it's wonderful...' (Hermann Meier). This position quite off the beaten track, without an audience - and with no desire to serve its expect...

More

CHF 22.00 Add
Hermann Suter

Hermann Suter

Sämtliche Streichquartette

More

CHF 22.00 Add
Hermann Suter  / Werner Wehrli

Hermann Suter / Werner Wehrli

Sinfonie d-Moll op. 17 / Chilbizite

Although a generation divided them, the composers Hermann Suter and Werner Wehrli were united by numerous commonalities beyond the shared canton of their birth, Aargau. Werner Wehrli completed his training as a composer in 1917/1918 under Hermann Suter in Basel. Both of them had studied in Germany, both had their most important works published by Hug & Co. in Zurich from 1920 onwards, and b...

More

CHF 22.00 Add
Hermann Von Glenck

Hermann Von Glenck

Orchesterwerke

Hermann von Glenck belongs to the most important Swiss composers of the late Romantic era. His compositional style remained single-mindedly fixed on the path that he had chosen for himself. He consciously avoided following the latest developments. The Symphony Carità eterna was performed for the first-ever time on this recording. In 1906, it was accepted by Ernst von Schuch (the General Music D...

More

CHF 29.00 Add
Lucerne Chamber Brass

Lucerne Chamber Brass

Bauernmusik revisted

Wherever Swiss folk music is mentioned, one automatically thinks of yodeling, the alphorn, or the so-called ‘ländler music’. As in many other places in Europe, the last of these is based on popular dance forms of the 19th century such as the polka, the waltz, the ‘Scottish’, mazurka or gallop. Although the same dance forms and similar melodies can be found in other Alpin...

More

CHF 22.00 Add
Mario Beretta

Mario Beretta

Alpsegen - Lichtstücke - The Alphorn and the Sea

Since 1986, Mario has been working as a freelance conductor, pianist and composer, also writing music for stage and film. His compositions include the film music for Fredi Murer's Höhenfeuer (Mountain Fire), which won first prize at the International Film Festival in Locarno in 1985. For the official opening of the Expo.02, Beretta wrote the choral symphony A Song of Earth (for 800 participants...

More

CHF 22.00 Add
Martin Jaggi

Martin Jaggi

Komponisten-Portrait

Martin Jaggi was born in Basel in 1978. He began playing the cello at the age of seven and was given his first composition lessons by his father, the composer Rudolf Jaggi. He studied composition with Rudolf Kelterborn from 1995 to 1996, and then from 1996 to 2000 he studied the cello with Reinhard Latzko and composition with Detlev Müller-Siemens at the Basel Music Academy. He then studied f...

More

CHF 22.00 Add
Müller-Zürich - Pfister - Schaeuble

Müller-Zürich - Pfister - Schaeuble

Konzertante Werke

The 1998-9 concert season of the Camerata Zürich, one of Switzerland's main chamber orchestras, was entitled 'Treasures from the Zentralbibliothek Zürich'. In every concert, a work from the library's collection was performed. Three of these can be heard here: the double concerti by Hans Schaeuble and Paul Müller-Zürich, and the Aegean Diary by Hugo Pfister. This CD is the result of a close coop...

More

CHF 22.00 Add
Norbert Moret

Norbert Moret

Triptyque - Gastlosen - Mendiant du Ciel bleu

Deeply inspired while in Vienna as a student of the conductor Wilhelm Furtwängler and in Paris with the composers Arthur Honegger, René Leibowitz and Olivier Messiaen, Norbert Moret has authored one of the most accomplished musical oeuvres of our time - explosive, visionary, dreamy, even silent music. Norbert Moret, a Romantic? Certainly, in the sense that he is engaged completely with all his ...

More

CHF 22.00 Add

Alfons Karl Zwicker

Alfons Karl Zwicker

VOM KLANG DER BILDER

Les compositions du St-Gallois Alfons Karl Zwicker se caractérisent par d?intéressants aspects interactifs. Cet artiste s?est voué jusqu?en 1981 à la peinture. Dans son ?uvre picturale, on assiste à une évolution vers une thématique plus abstraite ou des éléments musicaux, tels que le rythme et les harmonies. Ces éléments musicaux devinrent si prépondérants qu?ils obligèrent le peintre à les tr...

En savoir plus

CHF 22.00 Add
Andreae - Veress - D'Alessandro

Andreae - Veress - D'Alessandro

Schweizer Werke für Klaviertrio

Le Absolut Trio évolue de préférence à l’écart des principaux courants de l’industrie musicale et donne à entendre une musique tenue à l’écart pour toutes sortes de raisons. Les trois oeuvres signées Volkmar Andreae, Sándor Veress et Raffaele d’Alessandro démontrent quels joyaux peuvent être ainsi dénichés.
Volkmar Andreae a influencé la vie musicale zurichoise du début du XXe siècle de...

En savoir plus

CHF 22.00 Add
Arthur Honegger

Arthur Honegger

"Rugby". Mouvement symphonique Symphonie liturgique Symphonie "Di tre re"

Spectateur régulier des matches de rugby parisiens des années 1920, Honegger se passionnait pour le rythme «sauvage, brusque, désordonné et désespéré» des matches et pour l’ensemble du spectacle qui y était lié. «J’aime: 1. Cette sorte d’euphorie, d’espoir, de joie irrésistible et infondée engendrée par le jeu; 2. simultanément, les phases fatidiques et imprévisibles du jeu, les dribblings des...

En savoir plus

CHF 22.00 Add
Dmitri Schostakowitsch j

Dmitri Schostakowitsch j

SINFONIE NR. 4

La quatrième symphonie de Chostakovitch correspond à la première étape importante de son ?uvre symphonique (15 symphonies) et à l?aboutissement d?une évolution, les ?uvres consécutives à cette symphonie no 4 prenant une tournure radicalement différente. Alors qu?il est au c?ur de la composition de cette quatrième symphonie, Chostakovitch se voit imposer les normes staliniennes. Il préfère retir...

En savoir plus

CHF 22.00 Add
Dmitrij Schostakowitsch

Dmitrij Schostakowitsch

SINFONIE NR. 5

La 5ème Symphonie occupe une place particulière dans l??uvre de Chostakovitch. C?est la première ?uvre symphonique que le compositeur écrivit après plusieurs années de persécution par le régime communiste. Le Parti avait condamne Chostakovitch après son audacieuse ?4ème Symphonie? et son opéra ?Lady Macbeth de Mzensk?, en exigeant qu?il renonce à tout modernisme et écrive désormais de la musiqu...

En savoir plus

CHF 22.00 Add
Ernest Bloch

Ernest Bloch

CONCERTI GROSSI I&II

Rien ne trahit, dans la vie musicale suisse, le fait qu?Ernest Bloch (1880-1959) est aujourd?hui le compositeur d?origine suisse le plus joué dans le monde. Alors que l?auteur de la fresque symphonique ?Helvetia. The Land of Mountains and its People? (1929) n?est généralement évoqué au pays de sa naissance que par quelques rares morceaux de musique de chambre, le compositeur de la Rapsodie épiq...

En savoir plus

CHF 22.00 Add
Ernest Bloch

Ernest Bloch

Schelomo / Avodath Hakodesh

L'oeuvre la plus connue du "Cycle juif" de Bloch est la rhapsodie hébraïque "Schelomo" pour violoncelle et orchestre. Elle réunit tous les éléments dont Ernest Bloch se servira désormais pour conférer des caractéristiques reconnaissables aux différents volets de son "Cycle juif" et pour établir un lien interne entre ces oeuvres qui couvrent presque deux décennies. A part l'évocation du timbre ...

En savoir plus

CHF 22.00 Add
Fabian Müller

Fabian Müller

Klavierkonzert, Labyrinth, Suite für Violoncello und Streichorchester, Lied des Einsamen

Fabian Müller compte aujourd'hui parmi les premiers compositeurs suisses de sa génération. Ses oeuvres jaillissent toutes de la liberté de l'intuition. Il est rare qu'elles suivent des schémas préconçus. C'est pourquoi elles comprennent des éléments aussi bien modernistes que traditionnels. Müller ne s'est jamais senti tributaire d'une école ou d'un dogme quelconque. Composer est pour lui explo...

En savoir plus

CHF 22.00 Add
Frank Martin

Frank Martin

Intégrale des oeuvres pour flûte

Frank Martin a connu une percée internationale après une représentation scénique du Vin herbé en 1948 à Salzbourg. Son importante production - qui compte des oeuvres religieuses comme Golgotha et Le Mystère de la Nativité, des compositions orchestrales comme la Petite symphonie concertante et Der Cornet (texte de Rilke), ainsi que des pages chorales et de musique de chambre - a depuis lors inté...

En savoir plus

CHF 29.00 Add
George Gruntz

George Gruntz

Expo Triangle

La forte amitié qui liait George Gruntz, pianiste de jazz de Bale, à Rolf Liebermann, compositeur et intendant de l?opéra originaire de Zurich, a donné naissance à des ?uvres passionnantes louvoyant entre le classique et le jazz. Outre l?opéra jazz ?Cosmopolitan Greetings?, sorti il y a déjà plusieurs années sur un double CD (MGB 9203), les quatre ?uvres inédites présentes sur ce CD appartienne...

En savoir plus

CHF 22.00 Add
Grammont Sélection 8

Grammont Sélection 8

Schweizer Uraufführungen 2014

Aucune des Sélections Grammont de ces sept dernières années ne donnait le sentiment d’une homogénéité. Elles ne permettaient donc guère de définir un style typiquement suisse. Si, il y a huitante ans, la Suisse connaissait encore une seule orientation esthétique et qu’il y a vingt ans, il subsistait les vestiges d’une pensée musicale commune, les approches actuelles varient considérablement e...

En savoir plus

CHF 29.00 Add
Heinrich Sutermeister

Heinrich Sutermeister

Klavierkonzert Nr. 2 - Divertimento Nr. 1 - Poème funèbre - Sérénade pour Montreux

La réputation internationale de ce compositeur suisse est due à ses ouvrages lyriques. Son langage musical direct et accessible à tous crée une complicité immédiate entre la scène, les chanteurs et le public. C'est ainsi qu'il a obtenu les faveurs d'une vaste audience. On cite souvent Carl Orff et Hans Pfitzner comme maitres de Sutermeister, mais du second, il n'a entendu en réalité qu'une conf...

En savoir plus

CHF 22.00 Add
Hermann Meier

Hermann Meier

Kammermusik und Orchesterwerke 1960-69

"Tout autour de moi, le romantisme; dans les années 1950, j'ai basculé: plus de mélodies, rien que des plans sonores, comme du béton armé. Il faut que je retourne une fois à Soleure, pour y apprendre à jurer; là-bas, on jure des minutes entières, comme des symphonies de jurons, merveilleux!" (Hermann Meier). Cette mise à l'écart absolu, loin d'un public qu'il refusait de satisfaire, p...

En savoir plus

CHF 22.00 Add
Hermann Suter

Hermann Suter

Sämtliche Streichquartette

Les trois grands quatuors à cordes de Hermann Suter jettent un éclairage sur les différentes étapes de la conscience musicale du compositeur, dévoilant par là une grande part de sa personnalité artistique et de son monde intellectuel au cours des deux premières décennies du XXe s iècle. E n 1 901, S uter a f ait s a première incursion dans le genre avec une oeuvre en quatre mouvements, dans l...

En savoir plus

CHF 22.00 Add
Hermann Suter  / Werner Wehrli

Hermann Suter / Werner Wehrli

Sinfonie d-Moll op. 17 / Chilbizite

Bien qu'une génération sépare Hermann Suter et Werner Wehrli, de nombreux points communs lient étroitement ces deux compositeurs argoviens au-delà de leur canton natal. C'est dans la classe baloise de Hermann Suter que Werner Wehrli a conclu sa formation de compositeur, au cours de l'année 1917/18. Les deux musiciens ont étudié en Allemagne, ont fait paraitre leurs oeuvres majeures dès 1920 che...

En savoir plus

CHF 22.00 Add
Hermann Von Glenck

Hermann Von Glenck

Orchesterwerke

Musiques Suisses a fait enregistrer pour la première fois trois oeuvres majeures de cet important compositeur post-romantique. Le Zurichois Hermann von Glenck a poursuivi dans la voie une fois tracée, et il a évité délibérément de suivre les dernières tendances. Le présent enregistrement de la symphonie "Carità eterna" est en même temps une première audition. En 1906, elle avait été r...

En savoir plus

CHF 29.00 Add
Konzerte für Schweizer Volksmusikinstrumente

Konzerte für Schweizer Volksmusikinstrumente

Le cor alpestre, le Schwyzerörgeli et le tympanon sont des instruments avant tout utilisés dans la musique traditionnelle suisse. Trois compositeurs de notre siècle ont relevé le défi ? avec une réussite variable ? d?intégrer ces instruments dans un environnement musical orchestral classique. L?innovant orchestre de chambre de Zurich, dirigé par son nouveau chef Howard Griffith, a joué ces ?uvr...

En savoir plus

CHF 22.00 Add
Lucerne Chamber Brass

Lucerne Chamber Brass

Bauernmusik revisted

Chaque fois qu'on parle de musique populaire suisse, on songe immédiatement au yodle, au cor des Alpes ou à ce qu'on appelle la Ländlermusik. Comme dans beaucoup de cultures européennes, celle-ci se fonde sur des danses populaires du 19e siècle comme la polka, la valse, l'écossaise, la mazurka ou le galop. Bien que les mêmes danses et des mélodies analogues se retrouvent dans d'autres régions d...

En savoir plus

CHF 22.00 Add
Mario Beretta

Mario Beretta

Alpsegen - Lichtstücke - The Alphorn and the Sea

Mario Beretta travaille comme compositeur indépendant, auteur de musiques pour la scène et le cinema, chef d'orchestre et pianiste. Il est l'auteur de la musique du film "Höhenfeuer" de Fredi Murer (1er prix du Festival international de Locarno en 1985). Pour l'inauguration officielle d'Expo.02, et sur commande du 7e Festival européen des jeunes musiciens, il a écrit la symphonie avec...

En savoir plus

CHF 22.00 Add
Martin Jaggi

Martin Jaggi

Komponisten-Portrait

Martin Jaggi est né à Bâle en 1978. Il joue du violoncelle depuis ses 6 ans et doit ses premières leçons de composition à son père, le compositeur Rudolf Jaggi. De 1995 à 1996, il étudie la composition auprès de Rudolf Kelterborn, puis, de 1996 à 2000, le violoncelle auprès de Reinhard Latzko et la composition chez Detlev Müller-Siemens à la Haute école de musique de Bâle. Suivent des études ...

En savoir plus

CHF 22.00 Add