George Gruntz Concert Jazz Band

Matterhorn Matters

Tracks

Choro Loco (Luciano Biondini); Artist’s Arteriology (George Gruntz); Matterhorn Matters (George Gruntz); His Master’s Choice (Franco Ambrosetti); My One and Only Love (Guy Wood/Robert Mellin); Too High (Stevie Wonder); Scott and Howard (George Gruntz)

Description

Matterhorn Matters was recorded at a live concert in Lucerne on the 10th April 2010. Although the band contained several new faces, including brassmen Mike Rodriguez, Jeff Stockton and accordionist Luciano Biondini, it was a night when everything seemed to click musically. No doubt the perfect acoustics in the hall helped, but whatever that mysterious alchemy that grips an ensemble from time to time and lifts a performance from the ordinary into the extraordinary, it was present that night. Afterwards, everybody was excited about the performance - Gruntz, the band members, the audience and the Swiss Radio staff who recorded the event. No one was more keen than Gruntz himself to release this documentation of the concert on CD, "You can feel the fire, you can feel the whole band is really in it, a lot of energy there," he enthuses, "I've been living with the tapes of this concert for a couple of weeks now and I know every note everybody plays. Fantastic!"

Composer

Various composers

Artists

Dave Bargeron (tb), Luciano Biondini (accordeon), Chris Hunter (as, fl), Lew Soloff (tp/piccolo tp), Jeff Stockham (frh), Howard Johnson (tuba), Arie Volinez (e-bass), Sal Giorgianni (ts), Mike Rodriguez (tp), Andy Scherrer (ts), René Mosele (tb), François Laizeau (d), Larry Schneider (ts), Scott Robinson (bs, ts). 

CD order number

Jazz 3

MP3 preview

EAN code

7613206849323

CHF 22.00 Add

George Gruntz Concert Jazz Band

Matterhorn Matters

Pistes

Choro Loco (Luciano Biondini); Artist’s Arteriology (George Gruntz); Matterhorn Matters (George Gruntz); His Master’s Choice (Franco Ambrosetti); My One and Only Love (Guy Wood/Robert Mellin); Too High (Stevie Wonder); Scott and Howard (George Gruntz)

Description

Matterhorn Matters a été enregistré en direct le 10 avril 2010, lors d’un concert à Lucerne. Bien que l’orchestre ait compté plusieurs nouveaux musiciens, dont les cuivres Mike Rodriguez et Jeff Stockton, ainsi que l’accordéoniste Luciano Biondini, c’est un soir où tout semblait marcher, musicalement parlant. Si l’acoustique parfaite de la salle a aidé, la mystérieuse alchimie qui saisit de temps à autre un ensemble et transforme une exécution ordinaire en performance historique était certainement à l’oeuvre ce soir-là. Après coup, chacun était ravi. Personne n’était plus désireux que Gruntz lui-même de publier un CD du concert. «Vous sentez le feu, vous sentez que tout l’orchestre se donne à fond, quelle énergie!», s’enthousiasme-t-il. «Voilà quelques semaines que je vis avec les bandes de ce concert et je connais toutes les notes que chacun joue. C’est fantastique!»

Compositeur

Compositeurs divers

Interprètes

Dave Bargeron (tb), Luciano Biondini (accordeon), Chris Hunter (as, fl), Lew Soloff (tp/piccolo tp), Jeff Stockham (frh), Howard Johnson (tuba), Arie Volinez (e-bass), Sal Giorgianni (ts), Mike Rodriguez (tp), Andy Scherrer (ts), René Mosele (tb), François Laizeau (d), Larry Schneider (ts), Scott Robinson (bs, ts). 

Numéro de commande

Jazz 3

Échantillon MP3

Code EAN

7613206849323

CHF 22.00 Add