Landstreichmusik

Altfrentsch unterwegs

Tracks

Jokebantonis; Recht sennisch, Schottisch; Recht sennisch, Zäuerli; Recht Chrsennisch, Walzer; Walzerprozess; En omme; Ruguser; Appenzeller; Walzerwahnsinn; Edelweiss; Langnauerli; Die Löpfige; Schützenpolka; Bischelis Drüü; A der Appenzeller Chilbi; Juhizer; Die Letschte

Description

Dancing is forbidden to both locals and visitors on Sundays and feast days, with Alpstubeten being excepted (“Appenzeller Volksfreund”, 6 July 1887) The history of Appenzell folk music was determined in large part by the Tradition of the “Alpstubeten”. These were originally convivial gatherings of dairy farmers as a means of diversion from their hard work in the summer, up in the Alps. “Z Stubete Goh” (“Going to the Stubete”) meant visiting riends and acquaintances for small, private parties in their “gute Stube”, their “good room” or parlour. The first reports of Alpstubeten date from the 15th century, and suggest that already by that time larger-scale, openair events were taking place at which those attending sang, made music and danced. Over the course of the centuries, several bans on dancing were enforced, which caused the farmers to organise Stubeten in secret, the so-called “Winkel-Stobeten”. As early as the 16th century, string instruments were being used to play at these events, including early forms of the violin and dulcimer. Drone instruments such as the hurdygurdy and the bagpipe were presumably also played. In the late 18th century, the “Basseetli” joined the violin and the dulcimer in the dance music of the day. This was a low-pitched string Instrument similar to today’s cello. It was later replaced by the “Bassgeige” (“bass violin”), namely the double bass. The resulting trio formation is still described today as the “Altfrentsch” ensemble. And the expression “altfrentsch uufgmacht” still means to perform with this small-scale ensemble in the traditional manner. “Altfrentsch” is a rarely used concept in Appenzell dialect that has its origins in the German expression “altfränkisch” (“old Franconian”), which itself derives from the Middle High German “altvrenkisch”, thus “in the manner of the old Franks”. It means roughly “old fashioned” or “in the old manner”. “Altfrentsch” is also used to denote the original forms of Appenzell string music. “Altfrentsch” is thus the name given to the oldest collection of dances from Canton Appenzell. The dances in this collection, dating from the late 18th century, were only discovered in Gonten in 1998. In 2006, the Centre for Appenzell Folk Music in the Roothuus in Gonten published these 55 dances in order to make them accessible to musicians today. "With “Altfrentsch”, we return to the deepest roots of what we know today as “Ländler music”, which lie back in the late 18th century – both the time of the French Revolution, and the era when the waltz was just starting to set European society spinning. Notions of liberty and individualism also entered into the world of music and dance at that time" (Matthias Lincke).

Composer

trad., Matthias Härtel

Artists

Matthias Lincke, Geige Gesang; Dide Marfurt, Halszither, Drehleier, Trümpi, Getrommel; Christine Lauterburg, GesangGeige, Bratsche; Simon Dettwiler, Schwyzerörgeli, Langnauerli; Elias Menzi, Appenzeller Hackbrett, Gesang; Matthias Härtel, Kontrabass, Geige, Gesang.

CD order number

MGB-NV 34

MP3 preview

EAN code

7613295408111

CHF 22.00 Add

Landstreichmusik

Altfrentsch unterwegs

Pistes

Jokebantonis; Recht sennisch, Schottisch; Recht sennisch, Zäuerli; Recht Chrsennisch, Walzer; Walzerprozess; En omme; Ruguser; Appenzeller; Walzerwahnsinn; Edelweiss; Langnauerli; Die Löpfige; Schützenpolka; Bischelis Drüü; A der Appenzeller Chilbi; Juhizer; Die Letschte

Description

La danse est interdite les dimanches et les jours fériés pour les indigènes et les étrangers, exception faite des «Alpstubete» («Appenzeller Volksfreund» du 6 juillet 1887). L’histoire de la musique populaire appenzelloise est fortement marquée par la tradition des «Alpstubete». Ces derniers étaient à l’origine des rencontres de vachers, destinées à agrémenter le dur labeur quotidien sur l’alpe durant la saison estivale. «Z Stubete Goh» (aller au Stubete) voulait dire se rendre à des petites fêtes privées dans les «gute Stube» (les beaux salons) d’amis et de connaissances. Les premiers comptes rendus de ces Alpstubeten remontent au XVe siècle et laissent penser qu’à cette époque déjà, il y avait de telles festivités d’une certaine importance en plein air, au cours desquelles on chantait, on faisait de la musique et on dansait à l’envi: raison pour laquelle des interdictions de danser ont été édictées au cours des siècles suivants, ce qui a conduit des vachers à organiser en cachette les soi-disant «Winkel-Stobeten» (Stubete de recoin). Au XVIe siècle, on jouait déjà sur des instruments à cordes, parmi lesquels figuraient les premières formes du violon et du tympanon. Il est probable qu’on employait aussi des bourdons, comme la vielle à roue et la cornemuse. A la fin du XVIIIe siècle, le «Basseetli» (basset), un instrument à cordes grave ressemblant à l’actuel violoncelle, s’est joint au duo violon-tympanon. Il ya plus tard été remplacé par la contrebasse. Le trio ainsi constitué est toujours désigné aujourd’hui comme un «Ensemble Altfrentsch», alors que l’expression «altfrentsch uufgmacht» signifie jouer dans cette formation restreinte, de façon traditionnelle. «Altfrentsch», terme rarement utilisé dans le dialecte appenzellois, trouve son origine dans l’expression allemande «altfränkisch» (vieux-francique), qui dérive elle-même du moyen haut-allemand «altvrenkisch» (à la manière des anciens Francs) et signifie à peu près «démodé» ou «selon les anciennes coutumes». «Altfrentsch» est aussi employé pour désigner les formes originales de la musique pour cordes appenzelloise. La plus ancienne collection de danses du pays appenzellois est ainsi titrée «Altfrentsch». Les danses de la fin du XVIIIe siècle contenues dans ce recueil ont été mises à jour en 1998 à Gonten. En 2006, le Centre de musique populaire appenzelloise établi dans le Roothuus (hôtel de ville) de Gonten a publié ces 55 danses, les mettant ainsi à la portée des musiciens d’aujourd’hui. "Avec «Altfrentsch», nous retournons aux sources les plus lointaines de ce que nous connaissons aujourd’hui sous le terme de «Musique de Ländler». Celles-ci remontent à la fin du XVIIIe siècle, qui était tout autant l’époque de la Révolution française que celle où la valse commençait à emporter toute l’Europe dans une fièvre tournoyante. Des notions de liberté et d’individualisme ont aussi fait leur entrée dans la danse et la musique de cette époque" (Matthias Lincke).

Compositeur

trad., Matthias Härtel

Interprètes

Matthias Lincke, Geige Gesang; Dide Marfurt, Halszither, Drehleier, Trümpi, Getrommel; Christine Lauterburg, GesangGeige, Bratsche; Simon Dettwiler, Schwyzerörgeli, Langnauerli; Elias Menzi, Appenzeller Hackbrett, Gesang; Matthias Härtel, Kontrabass, Geige, Gesang.

Numéro de commande

MGB-NV 34

Échantillon MP3

Code EAN

7613295408111

CHF 22.00 Add