Martin Jaggi

Komponisten-Portrait

Tracks

Girga für Orchester; Mehrgarh für 12 Instrumente; Strata für Sopransaxophon, Viola, Schlagzeug und Klavier; SPAM für 6 Instrumente; Plod on für Violine, Viola, Violoncello und Klavier; Moloch für grosses Orchester.

Description

Martin Jaggi was born in Basel in 1978. He began playing the cello at the age of seven and was given his first composition lessons by his father, the composer Rudolf Jaggi. He studied composition with Rudolf Kelterborn from 1995 to 1996, and then from 1996 to 2000 he studied the cello with Reinhard Latzko and composition with Detlev Müller-Siemens at the Basel Music Academy. He then studied further with Walter Grimmer at the Zurich Academy of Music and Theatre. He also attended masterclasses by Claude Starck, Colin Carr and Ivan Chiffoleau (cello) and with Marc-André Dalbavie and Helmut Lachenmann (composition). From 2004 to 2006 he undertook postgraduate studies in composition with Manfred Stahnke at the Hamburg Music Academy. Martin Jaggi’s primary activity as a performer is as the cellist of the Ensemble Phoenix Basel. From 2000 to 2013 he was the cellist in the Mondrian Ensemble Basel, of which he was a founding member. He is also the solo cellist of the basel sinfonietta. The beginning of Jaggi’s career as a composer was marked by the performance of his Sahara cycle as part of the European Music Month in Basel in 2001. Since then he has been given numerous commissions, including by the Basel Symphony Orchestra, the Lucerne Symphony Orchestra, the aDEvantgarde Festival in Munich, the Festival Archipel Genève, the Musikfestival Bern, the Swiss Arts Council Pro Helvetia, the Ensemble Phoenix Basel, the Collegium Novum Zürich, the Munich Chamber Orchestra and the Austrian Ensemble for New Music. His works have been performed in numerous countries in Europe and Asia as well as in Canada, Argentina and South Africa, and they have been broadcast by various radio stations. His orchestral work Trieb and the string quartet Gharra were included in the CD documentation series “Grammont Sélection” featuring exceptional Swiss world premières. In June 2015, the Donaueschingen Music Days commissioned him to write an orchestral work. Martin Jaggi lives and works today in Switzerland and Singapore.

Composer

Martin Jaggi (*1978)

Artists

Luzerner Sinfonieorchester; James Gaffigan, Leitung; Collegium Novum Zürich; Johannes Kalitzke, Leitung; Raphael Camenisch, Sopransaxophon; Petra Ackermann, Viola; Christian Dierstein, Schlagzeug; Philipp Meier, Klavier; Ensemble Phoenix Basel; Mondrian Ensemble; basel sinfonietta; Stefan Asbury, Leitung.

CD order number

MGB-CTS-M 146

EAN code

7613295407992

CHF 22.00 Add

Martin Jaggi

Komponisten-Portrait

Pistes

Girga für Orchester; Mehrgarh für 12 Instrumente; Strata für Sopransaxophon, Viola, Schlagzeug und Klavier; SPAM für 6 Instrumente; Plod on für Violine, Viola, Violoncello und Klavier; Moloch für grosses Orchester.

Description

Martin Jaggi est né à Bâle en 1978. Il joue du violoncelle depuis ses 6 ans et doit ses premières leçons de composition à son père, le compositeur Rudolf Jaggi. De 1995 à 1996, il étudie la composition auprès de Rudolf Kelterborn, puis, de 1996 à 2000, le violoncelle auprès de Reinhard Latzko et la composition chez Detlev Müller-Siemens à la Haute école de musique de Bâle. Suivent des études de violoncelle auprès de Walter Grimmer à ce qui était alors la Haute école de musique et d’art dramatique de Zurich (aujourd’hui Haute école des arts). En complément, Jaggi fréquente les cours de maîtrise de Claude Starck, Colin Carr et Ivan Chiffoleau (violoncelle), ainsi que de Marc-André Dalbavie et Helmut Lachenmann (composition). De 2004 à 2006, il y ajoute un cours de perfectionnement en composition chez Manfred Stahnke à la Haute école de musique de Hambourg. Au coeur de son travail d’interprète figure son activité de violoncelliste à l’Ensemble Phoenix Basel. De 2000 à 2013, Jaggi a aussi été violoncelliste du Mondrian Ensemble Basel, dont il est l’un des fondateurs. Il est en outre violoncelliste solo du basel sinfonietta. La carrière de compositeur de Jaggi commence en 2001 avec l’exécution, à Bâle, de son cycle Sahara, dans le cadre du Mois européen de la musique. Suivent plusieurs commandes, entre autres de l’Orchestre symphonique de Bâle, de celui de Lucerne, du festival aDEvantgarde (Munich), du Festival Archipel (Genève), du Musikfestival Bern, de Pro Helvetia, de l’Ensemble Phoenix Basel, du Collegium Novum Zürich, de l’Orchestre de chambre de Munich et de l’Ensemble autrichien de musique contemporaine. Ses oeuvres ont été jouées dans de nombreux pays d’Europe et d’Asie, ainsi qu’au Canada, en Argentine et en Afrique du Sud, et ont été enregistrées par différentes radios. «Trieb» pour orchestre et le quatuor à cordes «Gharra» ont été gravés dans la collection de CD «Grammont Sélection», qui documente les meilleures exécutions d’oeuvres suisses. En juin 2015, Jaggi a reçu commande d’une oeuvre pour orchestre des Journées musicales de Donaueschingen. Il vit et travaille en Suisse et à Singapour.

Compositeur

Martin Jaggi (*1978)

Interprètes

Luzerner Sinfonieorchester; James Gaffigan, Leitung; Collegium Novum Zürich; Johannes Kalitzke, Leitung; Raphael Camenisch, Sopransaxophon; Petra Ackermann, Viola; Christian Dierstein, Schlagzeug; Philipp Meier, Klavier; Ensemble Phoenix Basel; Mondrian Ensemble; basel sinfonietta; Stefan Asbury, Leitung.

Numéro de commande

MGB-CTS-M 146

Code EAN

7613295407992

CHF 22.00 Add